Alfred Beer & Company Limited is a new company set up by Aimee Beer ABII. Aimee is the Licensee of The Queens Head. After leaving school Aimee attended Westminster Kingsway College, the country's leading catering college. Whilst training at the college she did work experience at a number of locations, including Harvey Nichols Prism and the Oxo Tower.
After college Aimee worked for over two years here at the Queens Head. To expand her experience she went on to the Red Lion and Sun at Highgate, one of London's leading gastro pubs. In 2012 Aimee became an Associate of the British Institute of Innkeeping.
In her venture at the Queens Head Aimee will be backed by Glenn her father, who has over 30 years experience in the licencing trade both in the UK and overseas.
Combining their talents they plan to make the Queens Head the place to come for either a quiet drink or a good meal.
Beer is not only the family name, but also the family trade. Glenn and Aimee are retreading the footsteps of their ancestors. The Beer family were brewing in Canterbury, Kent, in the late 1700's when Alfred Beer took over the St Augustines brewery built into the wall of St Augustines monastery. This was taken of by his son William. William continued until 1848 when the brewery closed to allow for the building of a Missionary College. He located to a new site at 9 Broad Street, Canterbury with his son Geroge, just 100 yards away from the monastery. By 1851 both George and Alfred were independent Brewers and Maltsters. They continued for the rest of their lives in their chosen trade and George's eldest son also George followed in his father's footsteps.
As long as the Beer family have been in the trade the Queens Head can pre date them. The building is belived to date the mid 16th century and we know that it was a inn by the mid 18th century at least. At one time it had as a neighbour the Kings Head. This like the present Queens Head was also a family run business as in 1740 it was given by Elizabeth Wright to her grandson.